Monday, June 17, 2013

Dr Zakir Naik Asaduddin Owaisi Katju among 42 elected to AMU Court

FORWARDED AS RECEIVED................................
---------- Forwarded message ----------
Date: Wed, Jun 12, 2013 at 8:20 PM
Subject: [Hyderabad-Rocks] "Dr.Zakir Naik, Asaduddin Owaisi, Katju among 42 elected to AMU Court"

Zakir Naik, Owaisi, Katju among 42 elected to AMU Court

June 12, 2013 in EducationHome SliderIndian Muslim | 0 Comment

By Muslim Mirror News,

Members of AMU Court participating in its annual meeting

Aligarh, June 12: In the annual meeting of AMU Court, eminent theologian and President of All India Muslim Personal Law Board, Maulana M. Rabe Nadvi, former Indian Hockey Captain Mr. Zafar Iqbal, distinguished Urdu scholar and critic Prof. Gopichand Narang, renowned Theologian, Maulana Kalbe Sadiq, President, National Press Council, Justice Markandey Katju, eminent film personalities Mr. Muzaffar Ali and Mr. Farooq Sheikh and eminent scientist Dr. Shahid Jameel and many other eminent personalities were elected as members of the Aligarh Muslim University Court, the supreme governing body of the University.

The election of 42 representatives from six different categories to serve as members on the University Court was announced by the Chief Election Officer, Prof. Saleem Akhtar, Dean, Faculty of Law.

Four persons from amongst the Chairmen including President of the Waqf Boards have been elected unopposed. They are Chairman, Delhi Waqf Board, Chaudhary Mateen Ahmad, Chairman, UP Sunni Centre Board of Waqf, Mr. Zafar Farooqui, Chairman, Bihar Waqf Board, Mr. Irshadullah and Chairman, Rajasthan Board of Muslim Waqf, Mr. Liaqat Ali Khan.

Mufti Ataur Rahman Qasmi, Maulana Fazlur Raheem Mujaddadi, Maulana Abdul Wahab Khalji, Dr. Fakhruddin, Maulana Ghulam Mohammad Wastanvi and Qazi Zainus Sajideen have been elected from the category of Muslim College of Oriental Learning, while Professor Gopichand Narang and film director Muzaffar Ali have won the election under category Urdu Language and Literature.

Mr. Asaduddin Owaisi, Mr. Khwaja Shahid, Mr. Shahzad Zafar Ali, Prof. S. N. Pathan and Mr. Zafar Javed have been elected under the category Muslim Educational and Cultural Societies situated outside UP.

Maulana Asrarul Haq Qasmi casting vote during election in AMU Court Meeting

Fifteen persons, who have been elected against the category Muslim Culture and Learning, include Maulana Rabe Hasan Nadvi, Mr. Nasim Waris, Mr. Nadeem Ahmad Farooqui, Maulana Kalbe Sadiq and Raja Raza Ali Khan, and from outside UP, Mr. Zafar Iqbal, Dr. Zakir Naik, Prof. A. M. Pathan, Mr. Farooq Sheikh, Mr. Asif Jah, Mr. Anwaruddin Khan, Mr. Jane Alam (IAS), Mr. Mohammad Wazeer Ansari, Mr. Rasheed Masood MP and eminent scientist, Dr. Shahid Jameel.

Prof. Razaullah Khan, Mr. Rizwan Ahmad IPS, Prof. Qaiser Ali Naqvi, Former Minister Mr. Kaukab Hameed, Aligarh City MLA, Mr. Zafar Alam, Prof. Humayun Murad, Dr. S. Farooq, Chairman, Delhi Minorities' Commission, Mr. Safdar H. Khan, Justice Markandey Katju and former Union Minister Mr. Saleem Iqbal Sherwani figure among the ten Representatives of Learned Professions, Industry and Commerce.

It was decided in the meeting that the election of Chancellor, Pro-Chancellor and Honorary Treasurer will be held later and University will issue fresh notification to hold the elections so that the newly inducted members may also vote in the election process.

Vice Chancellor Lt. Gen. (Retd.) Zameer Uddin Shah presided over the meeting. Members of Parliament, Maulana Asrarul Haque Qasmi and Mr. Mohammad Adeeb, former Vice Chancellors of AMU, Mr. Mahmoodur Rahman and Mr. Nasim Ahmad, Vice Chancellor of Moinuddin Chishti Arabic and Persian University, Lucknow, Dr. Mohd. Anis Ansari, Visitor nominated member Prof. Valerine Rodrigues, Mr. Abul Aleem Khan of Hyderabad, Lucknow's Mr. Zafaryab Jilani, Prof. Mohd. Saleem Kidwai, Pro-Vice Chancellor Brigadier (Retd.) S. Ahmad Ali, Registrar Group Captain (Retd.) Shahrukh Shamshad, DSW, Prof. Anees Ismail, Proctor Dr. Jamshed Siddiqui and Deans of all Faculties, Chairmen of all Departments of Studies, Principals of Colleges and elected members of the Court were present in the meeting.  


Thanks & Best Regards,
Saudi Arabia